top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

The "I" Becomes "We" in Compassion


Just last month, I was interpreting at a conference after some time visiting my family in Pennsylvania and this long circular trip was one that will probably shape our lives from here on out. Interpreting at the Compassion Conference and again at our church's District Assembly, I got to hear from a lot of neat people doing a lot of neat things. I've had ideas simmering in my head for a while now and have figured that maybe I need to stop think about it and start taking the steps towards wherever these ideas will lead me. What does that mean? I'm not entirely sure, but this week has been the first "down" week I've had in a month and a half and I've been putting together proposals for different cultural ministries I've dreamed about together with many others in the community and otherwise. I've revised Audrey's homeschool to include more structure but also more in general (yes, I realize that means more work for me). I'm looking into participating on our church's trip to Cuba next February after our English Missions Training in January. I'd like to get connected and support refugees. I'd like to see bright students coming from lower income brackets outside the States get better opportunities. I'd like to put together Chemo Kits for Kids.

And most of all I realize, that with all the "I" that's in this blog, it really needs to become a "we". I am blessed to be in a church that dreams of a better world and acts to make that happen. I am proud of our church family and the things being done around the world and in local communities. And yet I do nothing alone, and neither can they. We need each other. I need you. And so, this short blurb becomes a call to action. Are you part of this cloud of witnesses. Can I help you? Can you help me? Have any of these issues or others called out to you? That's what this networking is all about. Let's do this, friends. Let's do this!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page