top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Dreaming...


I do and I don’t know why I have this crazy type of pre-trip insomnia. My brain is filled with planning– when are we going to the consulate in Chicago? How will we get there? How do we keep the contractor happy? We’ve begun packing and I came upon Audrey’s birthday dress, which probably still fits her (it was probably about a size to big when I ordered it, so it’s perfect now). So I got to talking to Cesar about us doing a kind of wedding celebration for his family there who didn’t get to participate in our wedding 3 years ago. And all this got me to dreaming and Etsy window shopping. Etsy makes me want to buy buy buy– cute little ballet shoes for Audrey, wedding dresses cheaper and fancier than my own (though I am still in love with my original dress), hair accessories I’d probably never use. And then I go back and think about Positano. Where’s the connection, you wonder?

I spent three days in Positano and I dreamed of having my honeymoon there. My cousins just went there (among other places in Italy) on a kind of babymoon and I’m jealous. I also remembered a dress that I loved there that I can’t seem to remember well enough to find online. It was white and maybe crocheted or something, and there was a store filled with these kinds of dresses, like they were a specialty of the area.

Back to reality and I’m hoping to find a simple wedding celebration dress in Brazil. I know, I know, everyone tells me just how expensive Brazilian clothing is, but I certainly can’t bring my original wedding dress all the way down there (even if I can still fit into it), and why not let Brazil enter into my American suitcases during this trip? After all, the other part of my “one flesh” is Brazilian!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page