top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

The Nook in my Nook


I don’t know why I chose the title I did– just thought it sounded nice, I suppose. But a lot has happened in the past few days. First– we are completely out of the apartment! Yay! That was a relief. So now we are in UHaul Storage… well, our stuff is. We’re staying in some friends’ apartment and Audrey is loving it :) They have a puppy she plays with and follows non-stop, and I have extra eyes to watch Audrey, which is actually relaxing at a hectic time like this.

I’ve been gathering letters and am thankful for every single one. Every person who steps out on our behalf is one more person who makes me feel really truly cared for. Your time is valuable and the situation is a sticky one, and I appreciate the support like you will never completely know.

I’m enjoying the fellowship of friends every day and am truly enjoying the community form of living. I wouldn’t impose on somebody for longer than this, but at the same time, I’m enjoying the fact that I don’t have to wait until Cesar comes home to have adult company, that I have someone to go grocery shopping with, exchanging stories about what things will be like, and feeling like every night I’m socializing.

Will things continue to be difficult? I’m sure! Do I have a bazillion things to do before tomorrow evening? Absolutely (by the way, anyone know if it’s cheaper to print color pictures out at home and have to buy new cartridges or if it’s cheaper to print them elsewhere? I need to print pictures, several to a page, with explanations below them). But am I feeling optimistic today? You know, I am! And I’m unrooting my Nook to play with the new update to see how that goes until the newest Auto Nooter comes out. Wish me blessings! I’m making a nice baked pork and mashed potatoes tonight for the crew.

Maybe I should rename this blog, Bringing the USA to the Brazilians… hehehe.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page