top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Yesterday


Sooooo… it’s the second day in Brazil and things are going well. We’ve been to the shop several times and I ended up buying a couple things there. We took Audrey to the pharmacy to get an nasal aspirator because we couldn’t find the one we’d brought and the same guy who was there yesterday was there again and he asked how Audrey was doing. She still has a fever, so he checked her throat and she did indeed have an infection (which I suspected just by what’s going on in my own throat), so he sold us an anti-biotic. Audrey’s been an angel this whole time. She loves our friends’ dog (she loves all dogs, but this one is very nice to here).

We then went to the feira (an outdoor marketplace) and bought some produce. We’re trying to get a decent internet connection and I’m trying out a portable one that’s okay, but not great. It’s hard to hear people talking, so we’re exploring our options. I’ll do whatever it takes to keep connected.

I called and talked to Dad a bit and then called a friend of mine here in SP (Francisco). I plan to call several friends and try to meet up. I’m so excited to see familiar faces that are from pre-KC times. I pray it works out. It’s kind of complicated because traffic is so busy and we’re all in different areas. I’m about 2 hours from the center of SP, some friends are about an hour on the other side. If it weren’t for work, it might be easier (like if we didn’t have to go to Rio on Saturday), because we could all meet in the city. I’ll do what it takes to try to make it work though. I can’t stand being so close to friends and not seeing them!

After phone calls, etc. we ate churrasco (steak, rice, beans and a salad) , and now I’m just hanging out while Audrey takes her nap. In just a little bit, I’ll take a shower to get ready for church. There’s a soccer game going on and cheering and fire crackers, honking and yelling at every goal.

Today’s cultural observations:

1– drunk/drugged people are even funnier when they think they are speaking a foreign langage. At the feira a guy was helping us park and when he found out I was American he said he spoke English, but most of what he was saying was just profanity.

2– everything is walled. Crime happens everywhere, but the joyful happy and open character of Brazil does not mean this is the place to leave your guard down. Everything is locked, houses are gated with glass on the walls, and security is high in the shop. Be happy, have fun, but be smart too.

3– This is less a cultural observation of Brazil as it is advice to anyone going anywhere– try stuff! Seriously! Food is yummy. You’ll never know how much you can like something if you don’t give it a shot. Use wisdom, but be open to trying new things and you’ll find some great stuff out there.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page