top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Community Living


So it’s been a few days since I’ve written, and that’s due to several factors:

Monday Cesar went to the farm to vaccinate the cows and I stayed at his mom’s. I spent most of the next day pretty useless as I had an upset stomach and Audrey continues to have diarrhea at least 3 times a day. Audrey continues to love playing with her cousins, and Cesar is excited to take her to the farm tomorrow (he came back yesterday). First thing’s first, though, and he’s out I think getting internet of some sort because we’ve been fairly out of touch for about a week and I have invoices to catch up on, more certified payroll and we need to be able to reach (and be reached by) our contractor at all times. Now, I’m going to list below a list of the difficulties/complaints about being here, not so much to complain about them as to process them and think about how to document them. You see, normally when I would go to another country I wouldn’t label things even as difficult—I’d just adjust. But my lawyer asked me specifically to continue to gather hardship evidence. If you have any ideas on how to document these things, let me know!

The number of people living in the house surpasses what I’d initially thought. Living in this house alone are: Marleide and Vitor (Cesar’s sister and nephew), Leonardo (nephew), Cesar’s parents, Carol (sister), Negao (a guy who has lived with Cesar’s parents for about 25 years… I think he works for them, but he also works for other people too—haven’t totally figured out his role yet), Igor and Chiquinho (cousins) and sometimes Cesar’s grandma stays here too.

Cesar, Audrey and I share a bedroom with a bathroom attached (I’m under the impression we’re the only ones with our own bathroom, which I am thankful for). The sink in the bathroom doesn’t work at all and the shower leaks all day long, which really isn’t an inconvenience—I just hope bugs don’t see it as an egg laying opportunity, which I doubt seeing as it is running water. The water is cold, which actually isn’t such a bad thing afterall, seeing as it gets super hot. However, Audrey has come to absolutely hate baths and showers, and we’re still trying to figure out a way to help her adjust either to cold water or to bathing in a sink with water we’ve heated. We’re talking about buying a little inflatable swimming pool and an electric water heater to create a kind of American bath effect. We’ll see….

Audrey’s behavior since coming here to Brazil is not bad, but also not herself. She gets really frustrated with all the limits, but because the house is close to a main road and the doors of the house always remain open. The best I can do if I want to get things done is to stay inside my room and shut the door and let Audrey watch a video on my computer (if I have enough battery or the electricity is okay). Audrey, however, has had constant diarrhea, which is giving her diaper rash, and she screams at anyone who wants to look at it. She did the same when one of the dogs bit her. She stayed in my arms and screamed at anyone who came close. It’s just not like her.

I have noted that community living as such means very little privacy unless you insist on locking your door (and sometimes not even then). My sisters in law don’t even bother knocking and I can be in the middle of something and suddenly my room fills up with people. They’re curious about everything, which is entertaining at times, but I’ve not been feeling very well, so lately it’s been more tiring than anything. One of Cesar’s sisters in particular just appears from out of nowhere and starts asking me questions and talking my ear off…. She then says she’ s not one to converse a lot. Haha. Could’ve fooled me!

Then there’s the basics—electricity going off for the whole city. I’ve never seen it so dark, I was afraid for Audrey who was watching a movie on the computer (I forgot that the computer ran on battery and she probably didn’t even notice, but I couldn’t find my way to the room she was in until Mae gave me her cell. Sewage leaks behind the house, and I haven’t figured out if it all goes there or if it’s just leaking, but usually around sunset there’s that lovely smell of urine and poop. The kids bathe from an open sink off what can only be described as a living room/washroom/porch. That same sink is used to wash the laundry, brush teeth and bathe babies.

All in all, it’s a learning experience. The weirdest part of it all is that regardless of my stomach being curdled and hurdled, and as different as everything is… I don’t feel different. It all feels like normal everyday life. People look at me like I should be hating it all and crazy to return to the USA, and I would like to go back. But I’m not in any rush or panic. I’m not suffering any crisis or hating anything. I really like the people and my new family. The food (when I feel well enough to eat it) is good (though repetitive), and if I could just get past my physical ailments I would love to go out and explore. We should have internet that’s more faithful tonight or tomorrow. Soon after we’ll go to the farm, but not until we make some basic phone calls. The internet here is horrible, but I think our fixed internet will support phone calls more frequently when we’re at home. Get ready for me to be back in touch!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page