top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

To Adjust or Not to Adjust


The question in this time in Brazil seems to always be in the back of my mind– to adjust or not to adjust. How can I try to train my mind to be here two years if I’m only going to be here six months and vice versa? What difficulties am I experiencing as a true difficulty and what difficulties do I experience because I’m supposed to be looking to document my difficulties? Health-wise I’m certainly struggling with my stomach, and some of my other symptoms my sister-in-law thinks result from the fact that I’m not eating a lot because of lack of appetite. Those who know me well must be shocked because the words “Amber Drake” and “lack of appetite” don’t really go together, but it’s true. I don’t really feel like eating most of the time and I’m constantly tired. I have bug bites all over my body and am taking medicine now to try to calm the itch and swelling (the pharmacist recommended an allergy medicine that I’m taking three times a day).

Relationally, I’m getting along pretty well. It’s definitely challenging living in a house with so many people, especially when Cesar spends most of his time elsewhere, but I’ve never really struggled with anybody. I spent the past 2 days with my sister-in-law while her husband and mine were at the farm, and that was fun. She’s got connections with everyone, so I’ve had my nails done, hair washed and styled (which is really pointless once you walk out the door of the salon and get bathed in the dirt cloud), and she’s tried to give me a variety of food so that I can maybe lose some of the nostalgia for variety.

Today she taught me to wash clothes here (there’s a machine that spins the clothes and basically gets them wet and sudsy, then you put them in one sink and take out some of the suds, strain, put them in another sink, empty the first one and put in fresh water, strain, put them in the first sink, then put them in a bucket with softener and water, strain and hang to dry… something like that). We experimented with ingredients here to try to create a Starbucks frap with cake pieces in it… (I miss my Ninja). We tried to make egg-in-a-hole, but we didn’t have a spatula, so the yolk kept breaking. I like and combine well with her social and adventurous spirit.

ALSO, Monday night we saw Larissa!!! Yay! Larissa (for those who don’t know) is from our church in the USA. She came down to visit her in-laws for a few weeks, and it was good to see a familiar face and talk about familiar people. I miss our church there. The church here is huge and it seems like nobody actually goes there for church, but to just talk. I’m glad that I know that this is not the case in all churches here. Generalizing is dangerous, so we’re going to try some other churches where we might be able to get more involved.

I found smoothies! Cesar said they didn’t exist here but I knew that couldn’t be true in a place so hot! I also had some very yummy pizza… Finally! Anyone know how to ship ice cream. It’s just not the same here… and it’s certainly not as good as it was in Europe.

I can’t wait for the day when I can have a united family who can travel together and freely adjust as a family to the backs and forths of wherever life may take us. Anyway, will tell more later, but I’m pooped and am going to sleep. Goodnight all! Miss and love you!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page