top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

So Little So Much


It’s been one month since Cesar’s interview in Rio and it seems like it’s been forever. I’m so ready to be back in the States planning for something definite– something long-term, which is something I can’t even dream about doing at the moment (with the exception of saving and investing, but I’m talking about non-financial plans). I’d like to have close friends again (one’s I can go out with once in a while, though many of you are family and/or like family to me in heart-to-hear closeness). I miss talking to my sister randomly on the phone, calling my parents several times a week, talking to extended family, etc. It’s something that I can do here, but the connection makes it a struggle, so talking on the phone isn’t something I’m doing often.

Cesar’s talking about spending more time on the farm, perhaps even living there. I do like the peace there (when there aren’t a bazillion people thinking it’s a great place to party for the weekend). We found out that there are ants with a nice home in our bed in the city, hence our bazillion bug bites (and no way as of yet to get them out). So that means that the farm = less bug bites for Audrey and me. But it also means a lesser internet connection than we already have (should we decide to make a move of it), and even if we don’t move there, it would mean I would be even less connected than I am, which I already am not a fan of.

On the other hand, riding horses and taking advantage of the outdoors, fresh fruit, adventure living– well, it’s an adventure and I do get a sort of thrill out of it. It’s really great how much Audrey is loving the farm. This week she rode a horse twice– once with Cesar’s cousin and the other time by herself (with us holding on to her on both sides). She cried when we had to take her off (both times). She is crazy about the dogs on the farm, but she is constantly running the chickens out of the area saying “Sai! Sai!” which means “Leave! Leave!” Haha– something she learned from her vovo (Cesar’s dad).

Today we went to the cattle auction. We discovered that it’s better to buy straight from the owner (cheaper and you can negotiate and be more picky), but it’s worth going to get an idea of pricing and eat the amazing food– best food I’ve had since I arrived in Brazil this time around).

Anyway, I’ll be in town for the next few days– probably until Wednesday-ish when I’ll head to the farm again. So call anytime before then! I spend most of my time here in my room begging my White Collar program to download (so far one week and counting of download one show), scouting deals and prices online and just occupying my days until I head to the farm. My favorite sister-in-law said she’s coming on the 3rd from Brasilia, so I’m super excited for that. If she really comes and stays the 2 weeks she said she would, it will be a great way to spend my last month in Brazil (I leave from SP Aug 7 and will probably come back somewhere around 2-4 weeks later, depending on if I have the money to visit family while I’m back in the country).

For those who don’t see my Facebook pictures (Dad), here are a few of the main albums you’ve missed.

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.591756982797.2087146.69600231&l=9f703bf165 http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.591556185197.2087066.69600231&l=09455af033


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page