top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Independence Day


Tomorrow is Independence Day and I’ve never missed the USA so much. I look back and remember the church musical and fireworks, cookouts, grilled hamburgers and hot dogs, baseball tournaments, swimming and, what’s more, family. I think about the life I lived in the States and how privileged we are even in the hard times. Fast internet can be as simple as taking your laptop to McDonald’s, almost every apartment complex has a pool, air condition is basic and hot water is a must. It makes you think about how blessed we are to live in a country where luxuries (and many things we think are necessities are, indeed, luxuries) are fairly inexpensive, a country where there is not only freedom but ease to practice the things we love to do, whether we like to play soccer, design websites or pursue a degree—it’s all fairly easy in the long run in the United States.

Beyond that, I’ve been thinking about the immigration issues that have come up in our process. While I do have many complaints as a US Citizen who, because of a faulty immigration plan, can’t have my husband happily with me in the United States (and I say faulty because Cesar’s brother, who has had run-ins with immigration and been arrested several times now has complete legality in the USA without ever having left the country whereas Cesar, who has no record here nor there is stuck waiting in this process, both of us at risk of losing so much and with two American Citizens depending on the outcome of this case, it’s not at all right), I do recognize more and more of the great things about America. The first and foremost is that I have the right (and plan on exercising that right after counsel with my lawyer) to write my congressman and he is my representative. I can contact him and, even if he can do much, contact can be made with my government. That alone is really a big thing. I really think that I could be more involved, because unless each individual takes responsibility for change, what happens will happen based on who is being represented. If you remain silent, there’s no one on earth who can represent you.

It’s the day before Independence Day and I am one of many displaced Americans longing to be home to celebrate it with my friends, church, and country. Wishing all of you out there much happiness and a Happy Fourth of July.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page