top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Border Reflections


The other day I was looking at the stars on the farm and I just had to share with somebody, so I grabbed Cesar’s dad and dragged him towards the road (the clearing in the trees). “Do you know what that is?” I asked him, pointing to a large collection of stars stretching across the sky, forming a cloud-like streak. “That is the border of our galaxy,” I tried to explain in my limited vocab. It was the Milky Way, and I wanted to express the awe at seeing the plain along which we sit in the middle of our galaxy. It’s just so perfect where God has placed us. A little closer to the sun and we would burn. If our galaxy weren’t where it is, our way of life would either be a completely different science or experience or we wouldn’t exist at all. Our placement is perfect. I was in awe at seeing this and even moreso when Cesar’s dad showed me the Southern Cross and I recognized the constellation which I’m convinced is Draco (if Draco’s positioning is closely beside the Southern Cross).

Today we talked with our pastor in the USA, and I got to thinking about my trip back. I’m excited and sad at the same time. I’m excited to see the people and things that I’ve missed so much (and to eat), but this trip is the first that Cesar isn’t going with me because he can’t (I’ve travelled alone before, but it was always a Cesar’s choice or decision to stay home… . This time he’s not going with me because there’s no way he could. Three weeks of things that I’ve been missing, but it’s still going to be difficult because home is with my husband, wherever he is.

Calculations on average processing times would mean we would receive a response between December and February. My prayer and the desire of my heart is for Cesar to be with me for my family’s Thanksgiving. To all you prayer warriors, I ask that you join me in this prayer—that if, staying inside of God’s will, this be permissible, it may indeed come to pass.

Can you believe I actually miss paying regular bills? It made me feel like I was building something.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page