top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

To Brasilia and Beyond!!!


So the last few days in Brasilia were pretty nice. We did tour a bit of Brasilia, and it was totally not what I expected. For the capital of Brazil, and all the beauty that Brazil has to offer, Brasilia is basically an organized city of the seventies. It was actually, I believe, designed before then, but all the buildings in the “Plano,” the political center, are designed fairly rectagular in that typical style that you think of when you think that time period. Think straight and narrow….

Cesar, Audrey and I also took a couple family dates to a kind of food court close to Marli’s house, which was nice. I learned to really like Acai and ate various forms of it in the following days.

My last night in Brazil, we had a churrasco! Woohoo! Yummy meet and my new favorite vinagrette (tomatoes, onions, cilantro and a bit of a spicy zing to put over the rice). Too bad most of the people got drunk, because it could have been an incredible party otherwise. Cesar and I, as it turned out, hit the hay first and zonked out for the rest of the night.

I did a little shopping at the “feira” – there are three of these markets that are fairly large and well-known and I went to all three (Feira dos Goianos, Geira de Guara, and the Feira dos Importados). If I had had all the money to spend on clothes and presents, I would have a new and stylish wardrobe. As it is, I bought two shirts.

I think this post has enough interesting points that I’ll make the trip tothe USA its own post….


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page