top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Church (9.12)


Yesterday I went to church. I don’t know if it was the church itself, the music, the pastor, or if it was the knowledge that this church had some connection to life in the USA that made it a very positive experience. I went to a church recommended by our friend, Joab, who knows the pastor very well. There was a young singer who was amazing (a guest singer), and one of the guys from the church said he observed that I enjoyed her music and bought the CD for me. I talked to the pastor after the service was over, and today he and two others from the church came by the house and visited. It certainly made my day to have outside connections. It’s really a struggle to have friends and connections outside of the family, especially since where I want to go, my sister-in-law goes with, which means making any connections independently is next to impossible, but I’m sure going to try. One of the guys who came with the pastor suggested I help out with receptions, especially during this time (the Missionary Convention here starts tomorrow!) so that I can meet more people. I think it’s a great idea! And then today, around the time to go to church (though I didn’t know if I would go or not), I realized there was not a vehicle in sight. The guys working on Cesar’s mom’s building took the car, moto AND the truck. So I was stuck. The meeting to organize greeters was supposed to be tonight after the service. I’m going to see if maybe tomorrow Cesar can’t call the pastor to see if there are still any openings. I just know that if I have to WALK to the church tomorrow, I’m going to be there. It’s my only social hope, and it’s sure a large spiritual help. Is it possible Audrey’s asleep and I’m getting ready to sleep before 8:30? Oh, what this life can do to a person. I just want to sleep until it’s over, but hopefully soon I’ll be involved enough in the church that the time won’t pass so slowly. As of right now, time is just barely creeping forward. Maybe I’ll watch one of my few videos OR rewatch (again) some White Collar episodes….

P.s. Just tried out one of the “luxury” little tidbits that I brought back with me– the Gillette Venus Spa Breeze (a disposable razor)! Not to sound like a TV ad, but my legs are soft and the only bumps on them are my bug bites (meaning no goose-bumpy legs– very very smooth). Who knew!?!? I sure didn’t! I thought a razor was just a razor, but this blows my mind! Okay, will somebody please tell me why I don’t get paid for spreading news this exciting?


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page