top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Trial and Error


This weekend was pretty neat. Audrey got to play with some new friends we made and I found some places for Cesar and I to go out for a cheap date… sometime. I got a pretty good DVD as well. Audrey’s new friend’s, Emily (3 years old), mom gave it to me. Very neat. Yesterday I preached 2 Peter 1. It went pretty well. It was a small church and the elecricity kept going off, which is interesting because I rely on notes when preaching. It turned out to be more of an adventure than a problem though, and I felt like a true missionary. They introduced me as a missionary, which I wasn’t sure how to respond. Technically no church has officially accepted me with the title of missionary. But I am taking part in ministry in another country, so I guess that’s kind of what I am… a missionary-in-training anyway. I was incredibly humbled when one lady asked me to pray for a child in the church who had a fever. I think the common conception in the Assembly of God Church in Brazil is that missionaries are prophets and healers who always know what to say and can cure. I guess the Bible does say that we, as His disciples, will do all these things, but I suppose I don’t know how to react in these situations. We must have faith, but we must not present falsity as well. It’s a humbling position to be in. More humbling than exalting in my case… which I suppose is a good thing? It’s a stretching excercise. I just wish I had a missionary mentor to help guide me through these things. Someone from a familiar background to guide me. But where I am I’m learning from simple trial and error… and praying that God Himself would guide me that it would be less error….

I just read that regular excercise is key to a healthy marriage. It sounds like a good idea and the explanation makes sense– giving your best to your spouse physically and extending your days of marriage (excercise extends lifespan). Then I thought about where I am. I can’t just go to a gym, don’t have a clue where a safe pool might be, there are no Zumba classes and a woman jogging is not the safest thing in this area. If only I could download some excercise videos on iTunes. Would I do it? I keep dreaming. Life can be so much better if we could just get back to the States. How long will this struggle last? In all of my connections, is there no one who can hurry this process along? I’m growing, that is for sure. I see a lot of value in everything I’m going through. I even thought last night that I feel like I’m starting to mature spiritually and on other levels as well. But how much of that process is going to have to continue to happen here in Brazil? Will we be back, united as a family, by Thanksgiving? Is it possible? I’m about to finish the Great Parents, Lousy Lovers book and am wondering… if I could get an internet connection, would it be strong enough to start training to start a marriage restoration ministry? I’m not talking about starting my own independently– mostly just doing more speaking and being available for teaching what I’ve been learning through these books. There’s such a need for marriage-building everywhere, but it is not as readily available nor thought about here. I was talking to a lady from the church here about it the other night. It’s time the church stood up to strengthen marriage, preparation for marriage, etc. I want to get started! Thoughts? Ideas?


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page