top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

My Thanksgiving Dream


It was something I was dreaming of and praying for ever since we heard we were leaving the USA– our family, all three of us, at my family’s Thanksgiving. Call me sentimental, but there’s just something about being united along with my extended family that says “strong family foundation” to me. We came from Brazil with $100 in our hands. Everywhere we looked, the trip seemed impossible. But God uses people and faith to fulfill his promises, and I had a wonderful weekend with Grandpa, and a great Thanksgiving with my family.

Audrey, however, ran a fever and was sick Thanksgiving day, so she was not the bubbly socialite she usually is. We came back Saturday night to be at our church’s Thanksgiving and do some apartment shopping on Sunday. We’d hoped to move everything out of storage before having to pay December’s bill, but that’s not going to happen, so we might as well take the most economical option and make our moving experience a slower one.

Cesar’s out looking for jobs and trying to organize things so that we have a “pillow” fund from Brazil to get us started here again. Good for him! He’s got some challenges, so keep him in your prayers. We’re together, and that means a lot, is actually the fulfillment of a dream.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page