top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Realizations


There are many things I’m realizing these days– some that I knew, but didn’t know know, and others that are new and are just new new. … Not sure that that play on words really works, but anyway.

1– “What makes an apartment pretty is us in it.” It’s something Cesar said yesterday after we realized that my credit and our budget wasn’t going to get us a gorgeous apartment (nor would it get us into any of our friends’ apt complexes at a price we like). Is the outside something that visitors will say, “Wow, this is really nice?” Hardly. The carpets are well used, The size is quite small. Some things are even less economical (such as the fact that it has a laundry hook-up, but no washer/dryer). But this is how people have been starting their married lives for centuries, right (granted, we’re not just beginning, but because of the immigration process it is like we’re starting all over– a new life, a new marriage, a new family).

2– I need to get creative. This does not explain anything in and of itself, but the statement is actually tied into realization number 1. The fact is, I was looking at the apt we’re applying for today (pray for approval), and I realized. We only have our bedroom furniture and a kitchen table. I’m not even positive we have chairs for the kitchen table….. Does anyone know how to make fun shelving out of boxes? hehe. I know, I know. I sell Thirty-one, so I should buy the organizers, right? Right! I just need to start getting orders…. Which brings me to…

3– Just because you make a Facebook event doesn’t mean sales. That’s right. I’m not giving up, by any means. They know it’s there, I think. Several people are even “attending” these events. But for such a neat product, I would have thought I’d have some orders already. We still have 8 days to order to get things by Christmas…. I know, I know. The materialistic sales pitch is coming from a homeless woman, but hey… it’s not possible that I have the “rock touch” (that expression coming from a phrase I used with my pastor’s wife when I said in my sales experience everything seems to turn to stone instead of turning to gold…. It’s true. I, for some reason, can sell wonderfully by recommendation for others anywhere, but it seems like when I have anything involved in the actual product, it just doesn’t work….. ErgoBaby, for example, has for a fact earned quite a bit of money based on my recommendations. I’ve had people in airports, friends, acquaintences all ask me about it and some say they have bought or will buy it…. So…. for all you moms and organization bugs out there, enjoy these great Thirty-one products! haha. okay. venting of number three realization complete.

4– I’m out of touch and out of style. Not in a depressing way, just in an almost ditzy way. I, for example, have no idea what these protests in the cities are all about (Occupy LA, Occupy DC, etc.). Not a clue. I see that they’re happening, but why does nobody seem to explain why the people are doing what they’re doing? Did I miss that? I don’t know what’s on the secular stations (I just assume the Christian stations haven’t changed much…. no offense, but the turnover time for songs on Christian stations seems to be about 5 years), I have no idea what’s in theaters and have yet to get to a Blockbuster to know the recent releases. I don’t know why the US dollar seems to be going up (though its rise has affected us because of money to and from Brazil). I’m not going to say that I’m out of style based on my hand-me-down winter clothes, because really I’ve had rather stylish donaters…. Thanks to my cousins and friends and friends of friends for clothes for Audrey and I…. With all the guys in our church, I still wonder why Cesar can’t seem to get hand-me-downs, though I can’t think of anyone ever even close to his size (anyone know some small men with clothes they don’t want anymore…. hey! there’s another sudden realization that I knew but didn’t know know…. Guys don’t actually get rid of their clothes until they’re unusable to anyone else. Based on the guys I’ve known, I think that is true true true.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page