top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

While She is Sleeping


So it occurred to me that my faithful followers might be wondering where in the world I am, and while I seem to have a minute (Audrey is napping), I’ll try to spill it out fast (she’s bound to wake up any second now).

Yes, we stayed for a while at my brother-in-law’s. Yes, I’m in debt over my head and have a poopy credit score (but who DIDN’T know that, really?). But… yes, I DID get a surprisingly nice apartment. It’s not luxury, but it’s the perfect size and has character– a brick fireplace, beige walls (not hospital white), black appliances, and brick-design vinyl flooring in the kitchen and bathroom. With the right furniture and such, it could actually look pretty chic. Priorities are hard starting from 0 again, but 0 has not lasted too long. Cesar’s already back and booming with one of his former contractors and they seem to be busier than ever (pray that continues). We hope to be setting up payments to satisfy some of the urgent debt collectors in the next few weeks and then we’ll be slowly putting furniture in our apartment (of course, only after paying the necessary debts… setting the right priorities will make or break us this coming year).

So… Christmas will be slow, and the focus will be right where it should be– off the gifts (as I don’t think there will be any this year), and on the fact that I have the most amazing Christmas gift I could have asked for this year– my family together. Who would’ve thought? Immigration certainly hadn’t given us much to hope for along these lines back in the summer. And yet here we are– taking it a day at a time, but at peace because it is so clear that God is guiding our paths and if we keep honest, real and united, we’ll keep where we need to be. Have I mentioned how incredibly excited I am to be back with my church family???? AND can’t wait to get my Naz-ness on at General Board in Feb. Hopefully by then I’ll have furniture to host my annual GB apartment party! Woohoo!!!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page