top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Emotional Grab Bag


So don’t think emotional as in the normal negative frame of mind, which I think people mostly associate with unstable. I just mean it’s been a long time since I’ve written, and there’s a lot of everything. The stress is still there (in fact, I’m having problems with my hair falling out as a result… lots of it… hints?), but I’m very happy as well. We owe a lot, which has me constantly on edge waiting for one rock or another to fall on my head, but we’ve got furniture in our house, and I’m not doing a bad job at keeping our house presentable. It isn’t at the moment because my back has been terrible for three days, but in general I’m starting to think Brazil prepared me better than the rest of my life for keeping a decent house, meaning visitors are ALWAYS welcome (and it’s not awkward because of crazy messes). Our refrigerator is FULL, something I haven’t seen in a long time, and Cesar has work. The work is starting to trail off a bit (we were fortunate to be able to get a bit on our feet by getting work right away, but the busy-ness is wearing off and things are tapering. It’s natural for that to happen around February, but I just hope we can keep our debtors away and get organized at some point this year. A year goes by so fast and I look forward to a debt-free day (or at least a debts-paid day).

So all-in-all, I’m content. I was given the opportunity to sing at church last week and got many good affirmations and it’s just something that I feel great doing. My family is together. I talk to Mom, Dad and Nitners almost everyday and am trying to be more in touch with everyone on a whole. Still no cable and borrowed internet, but one step at a time. I’m very very blessed and glad to be back.

On another note, Cesar went to take the written driver’s test today (without even looking at the book). Can’t say I didn’t warn him. He failed. Miserably. He’ll be looking at the book tomorrow before trying the test again. If he passes, he’ll take the driver’s test right after and “voila!”


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page