top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Another Goodbye


Today was yet another trip to the airport. This year has been full of goodbyes. It seems that every other month we’ve sent another couple from our church on their way back to Brazil. Between my own comings and goings and theirs, Audrey gets excited whenever we go to the airport. For her, it must be another adventure. For many of us it means saying goodbye unsure if there will be another time to see each other on this earth, though we try to stay optimistic.

This goodbye was one more step closer to a very different church. This couple is one of the couples that has been at the church for longer than we have (I believe) and there are more on their way. I pray for God to bring others. It’s hard to lose people unsure as to whether your church is constantly shrinking or in rotation. But I’d like to think that while we are sad not to have those who have been with us here to share in the changes, we may have a future that’s not necessarily better nor worse… just different. The memories will be there just like my college memories are. But growth and maturity comes in change. Change is hard, but not always bad. I guess right now I just pray for positive change and divine inspiration at our church. I do enjoy doing whatever I am asked to do there, and while the ministry isn’t where I’d always pictured myself nor does it necessarily feel like my “home,” the people are my family and I feel I am right where God would like to use me. I can only say, Here I am, Lord. Use me. And I pray my steps follow in His will.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page