top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Christmas Sentimentality


About a week before Christmas, our family of three joined other families from around the world. It was not in itself a Christmas celebration as much as a time of culture mixing we'd been talking about for almost a year. Entrees and desserts were lined up from Puerto Rico, India, Brazil,Sweden and Portugal. We enjoyed saurbraten, chicken curry, passion fruit mousse and homemade waffle forms. It started a journey to reflection about the various Christmas traditions around us and how we celebrate as a family. As Christians, we want to make sure Christ is the center of our celebration, but the ways we can celebrate seem infinite.

Our Christmases have varied depending on if we were at home or with my parents. This year we went to my brother-in-laws house to celebrate a very Brazilian Christmas, which is actually Christmas Eve. We dressed up in nice clothes (though in the American way, I brought Christmas pajamas for Audrey to change into) and headed over decked with a gift for each of our nieces and nephews. I had an idea as to how the tradition went, but had never completely experienced it. Previous Christmases had been spent with the church, in Pennsylvania, snowed in with my mom here in Kansas, and those are the most memorable experiences.

The table was decked with none other than rice, beans, salad, pork leg and turkey. Other couples came, the guys dressed in jeans and polos or t-shirts while the ladies came made over and in winter dresses. We had food and conversation from around 10pm until midnight. Around midnight,the children came up from their food and fun and dove into their presents.

The presents represented everything that is excessive and who would expect less from a group of people who grew up with little to nothing in a culture known for extravagance. I don't say this as a critique, but simply in remembrance of my studies and one particular book called The Brazilians that detailed the paradox that is Brazil, a country of extremes where "everything is big and loud." The fake tree was decked out with elegant sets evenly placed and designed with a few doves sprinkled throughout. My nieces and nephews got present after present filled with everything they could have thought to want and even Audrey got a full Frozen gift set with Anna, Elsa, Kristoff dolls and Sven and Olaf figurines completed with several accessories from Frozen Fever. Adults got everything I would never ever get my parents or friends (unless specifically asked for), yet I've no doubt that these were all Christmas list items for each as their excitement rivaled the children's as they got elite brand name perfumes, purses, shoes and makeup.

In contrast, back at home, Audrey was allowed to open only the one gift-- the traditional Christmas book that tells a version of the Christmas story or, in the case of this year, emphasizing a virtue of the "Christmas spirit." Weeks ago we had decorated the hand-picked, fragrant tree to the tunes of my Grandpa's Christmas records. Most of the ornaments decorating the tree were collected ever since I was a baby, some even before (as I have inherited some of my grandparent's decorations). Audrey was the main decision-make with the placement of the ornaments, particularly those she has chosen herself at Hobby Lobby (every year she picks out a special ornament and has free choice regardless of how ugly I may find it, though I do attempt to use my powers of persuasion against some of the more hideous items). I had already seen some of the other more extravagant trees but will never sway on this tradition as I look at my tree and see a beauty that speaks to the beauty I look for throughout the season-- a beauty that goes beyond what the eyes can see. This year this beauty was made all the more special as we sat down and watched a Thanksgiving and Christmas family video my aunt sent us from 1989.

Before she went to bed, Audrey asked for my help to write a letter to Santa (though it's my handwriting, I didn't correct anything-- it is word for word what she wanted to say). Previous days were filled with Christmas programs, last-minute shopping, lights and friends and in all of that I forgot to get the ingredients to make cookies, so Santa got a candy cane. We then read the Christmas story and she was soon fast asleep. My phone calls started rolling in around 7:30 (though I didn't answer until 9:30) and we Skyped with my sister as her daughters opened presents we bought for them and then again with my parents as Audrey opened their gifts to her (an Our Generation horse and an Easy Bake Oven). Once all the calls were over and we showered, we spent the rest of the day at my brother-in-law's with cold leftovers and coversation finishing with a trip to see the Plaza lights and then coming home and playing with my daughter's oven and brand new microscope.

Our family tradition is filled with influences that come from all over-- some from Brazil, influence from Germany and my family background and some from here and there. Each celebration is filled with family, love and blessings, and with the hope that comes in our Savior's birth. I wouldn't call my in-law's celebration "brazilian," though it was referred to as such, any more than I would call my celebration "american". Each family has a different tradition and history. As varied as are our cultures and our heritage, our traditions (while in part formed by culture) are not identical within each said culture. What are your traditions and why do you think they are what they are? I know many American and Brazilian families who celebrate in so many ways. Are there traditions outside of your culture you hope to adopt? What are your favorite traditions within your family and culture and why? I now look forward to a very International New Years! What traditions might we celebrate together then?


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page