top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Strive for More


It's been a while since I've written because sometime in January, as I was teaching at EMT, my computer broke and I have yet to replace it. As of right now, I'm writing this update in the library as Audrey plays and chooses some books and videos. I hope to have my computer running as normal in the next week or so and at that time I will have at least 2 or 3 posts about Brazil, our experience with the Zikka virus and Dengue (don't worry, the three of us stayed healthy), a how to on how to stay healthy while traveling and an overview on my experience with the English Missions Training. Those following my Facebook page have seen the many pictures (I believe I have it down to about 4-500). Those following the Portable Kingdoms page only, you saw the best moments and I saved you hours of browsing.

Since our return, life has been fairly normal on one hand. We have gotten back into library visits, visiting the library close to three times a week at times. I hope to get to the gym more often as well, but we had some stomach scares and resting up since coming back, so we've only really gotten there for Audrey's swimming lessons and a couple times for swimming. I have yet to get back into real workouts (not that chasing Audrey around a swimming pool isn't exhausting). We have been much more diligent at school (more on that when I get into writing on the Audrey and Mommy Blog).

Church has also kept me busy and pleasantly so. It's always a privilege for me to sit in on NMI meetings (the meetings of our missions board) and see the many things we are already doing and dream up even more to do. I was able to hear the stories of those returning from a trip to Cuba the week I got back from Brazil. My future probably includes much more of the same, as I dream up ideas for a international youth group, an international/ multilingual Bible study, help develop some curriculum and finally explore my options at seminary. I'm looking into taking at least one class per semester, though I'm not quite sure what that will be like with EMT being right in the beginning of most of the classes for the winter. I may not get a degree. I hope to get a certificate this year. But most important for me is the learning and training opportunities and the times to be challenged.

My word of wisdom for today. Don't get too settled in. Strive for more for your family and for yourself, and I'm not talking about what many might describe in terms of successful. My family has always taught me to be a constant learner, and I've made that my life's goal. I was reminded in a letter last week that happiness will probably not come if I get that new house, if I get a job with good pay, but it comes with the time I have with my family, with the moments we have together, and with growth (whether we get credit or not).


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

USA, Cuba and Brazil

The year 2017 has already been a hectic year for our family! We started the year with classes in preparation for Audrey and I to go to Cuba and, days before our departure, I participated in a weekend

bottom of page