top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Destroyed by the Price of Privilege Trilogy


Price of Privilege Trilogy

by Jessica Dotta

“We often fail to recognize our greatest godsend simply because it comes bundled in suffering.” ― Jessica Dotta, Price of Privilege

I never quite understood what people meant when they said a certain book or movie "destroyed" them until I read this book. This trilogy, the third installment released in December this past year, is Jessica Dotta's first that I can find and it is nothing short of brilliant. She is certainly my new favorite author and I cannot wait for her to keep writing.

Why did this book destroy me? Let me count the ways... . I got the first book for free (Born of Persuasion), finding it back in November on my BookBub list (if you are a reader, I would suggest getting on that list. BookBub has given me some duds, but it is all worth it when you find a treasure like this... for free). I was hooked instantly and read straight through the first two books through late nights on my Kindle app and a long trip to Illinois. I hooked it up to the audio books so that even when I was driving I was reading, and when I got home I was reading the text version on my computer or phone.

Julia is a controversial character born into a difficult life. The story has the love and sentimentality of Jane Austen with an edge like the Bronte sisters, perhaps even more. Scandal and justified mistakes are everywhere as you blindly follow Julia through a web so intricate you find yourself wondering if the difficulty in navigating such a life isn't too complicated not to be true. The books have you laughing, crying, heart beating and then stopping.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page