top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Ni Hao and Take a Bow


Chinese Costume

After a week of homeschooling, I'm optimistic. This is not to say we didn't struggle through; there were days when bribery was not only a consideration, but a necessity. But yesterday marked the longest we've gone straight through the most lessons, and today we breezed right through. Each day is different and each day I watch her learn right in front of me. It's a crazy feeling and the responsibility is great. But I feel I can do this-- at least kindergarten and first I see being really fun. Who knows where all of this will lead.

This week we focused on China. We got our Little Passports in the mail last week, and they have a greetings activity that incorporates numbers and letters and I have been using its key to continue to explore Chinese phrases and numbers 1-26. I continue to say that the one book that will be absolutely consistent will be Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons. It's very good and it's one area where I see the most growth. Wish I could find a very similar math book.

Favorite videos for this week: Shirley Temple's Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm, Lady and the Tramp

Favorite books of the week: The Ballad of Mulan; Eat Healthy, Feel Great by William Sears

Interesting Fact Learned: Mulan is a Chinese legend based on a true story ( http://www.theepochtimes.com/n2/china-news/the-legend-of-mulan-61005.html

)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reviving School: Reading and Writing

I always come to this blog with the intentions of being more regular about posting and writing. Time catches up with me and passes me by. That said, several things have changed in our curriculum over

bottom of page