top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Teach Your Child to Read


A lot has happened since my last post, but I've seen a lot of friends and networks blogging, and I thought I should jump on that and blog more often. Our homeschooling is, well, a bit haphazard yet somehow it seems to be working!

We started (as I believe I stated in a previous post) with the book

100easylesson.jpg

This has been going really well and Audrey actually walks around sounding out anything she can. It's fantastic. She has, however (at about 50 days), gotten bored with some of it and that has been a bit frustrating. I realize school will not always be going from excitement to excitement, but I decided just going through this book may begin to make reading a chore if it were the only thing we did.

In August I decided to join Usborne Books and More because I was buying from someone and my wishlist was getting too long. I figured I'd just get my wishlist and earn more and more books as a consultant and give my proceeds to causes I believe in. What does this have to do with what I was writing above? Well, they have a learn to read system that has worked very very well together with the Teach Your child to Read book. In fact, if I could do it all over again, I would start them both around the same time and alternate days I use one or another. It is called the Very First Reading Set

I actually started with the Start to Read Pack, which is a bit cheaper and has some fun activities, but this month I will be buying the Very First Reading Set because it goes further (it includes the books in the STRP, but goes a few steps further).

starttoread.jpeg

I will post a video that will give a good overview of all of them, but it is so exciting to know that in this busy lifestyle we lead, my daughter is learning to read. It blows my mind that I am the one teaching her and that she is actually learning! What a neat adventure!

Favorite videos for this week: Sound of Music, Funny Face, Cat in the Hat, Frozen, Strawberry Shortcake

Favorite books of the week: Snuggle Bear, Slot together Castle, Butterfly Ballerina, Pink Princess

Interesting Fact Learned: She refuses to answer this question without saying/singing a song or ballet-- so she learned a lot of Christmas music :)

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reviving School: Reading and Writing

I always come to this blog with the intentions of being more regular about posting and writing. Time catches up with me and passes me by. That said, several things have changed in our curriculum over

bottom of page