top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

A Touch of Sadness


So it hit me today. I went into the children’s room at church to play with Audrey and she was there playing with all of these toys that were hers and that she would still love if we were staying in the USA. Suddenly the busy-ness didn’t keep my mind occupied at that moment and I started to see that this move, however smoothly it might go, won’t be easy. I’m leaving behind things that could have been saved for another child or could have been used– presents from special people, books she loved, the first year and a half is not only left behind, but it is in the literal distance…. Putting physical space in this gap that already exists is a hard thing to do that Cesar can’t even begin to understand. I didn’t choose this. I chose him and therefore this came with the territory. I knew I could live outside the States for some time eventually. I just never thought these would be the terms. I wish I could plan something with some sort of certainty.

In any case, can you believe that we applied for my visa and Audrey’s passport both on Tuesday when we went to Chicago and both have already arrived!?


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Border Reflections

The other day I was looking at the stars on the farm and I just had to share with somebody, so I grabbed Cesar’s dad and dragged him towards the road (the clearing in the trees). “Do you know what tha

Portable Thoughts

When you have to plan to live as I am living now—an indefinite amount of time that is sure to be enough to go through the stages of culture shock, but you pray doesn’t last long enough that the day co

bottom of page