top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Drake de Sousa

Excitement and Panic


I don’t know how other couples make it through this process. Without the shear mercy of God and the government, this process could be a vicious family separator. I got my visa for Brazil and was super excited until I read the fine print, which said that I can only spend a total of 180 days in a given year in Brazil. This means that if Cesar is still in Brazil around Thanksgiving time, we could spend Christmas and New Years apart. I don’t even know what to do at this point or how to plan. My life, even my private life, has had to be humbly spread out before everybody I can think of who might take 20 minutes to write a letter on my behalf, and many have rejected my request. Many have also very kindly written, and I am grateful. I just pray that I get everything I’ll need in this week to come. It’s down to the last 2 weeks. My brain is so full that I’m completely forgetful and lost most of the day as I go through list after list in my head. Cesar’s working so hard that I’m doing a lot of this alone, and the thing is the only help I can really ask for is these letters, petitions, begging the government to hear my plea.

I can’t live apart from him! Why is that so hard to understand? I am an American citizen and am finding that many non-citizens have more rights than I do to a united family. I’m so excited to travel, but I know that (even though our lawyer has told us his initial interview will probably end in rejection, hence the need for the waiver based on hardship) if Cesar doesn’t get his visa right away, I won’t be able to plan a future of any kind– not here nor in Brazil.

Anybody know of any countries that are open to both Brazilian and American citizens to travel freely?


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Border Reflections

The other day I was looking at the stars on the farm and I just had to share with somebody, so I grabbed Cesar’s dad and dragged him towards the road (the clearing in the trees). “Do you know what tha

Portable Thoughts

When you have to plan to live as I am living now—an indefinite amount of time that is sure to be enough to go through the stages of culture shock, but you pray doesn’t last long enough that the day co

bottom of page